Parish Church of the Assumption, Neundorf/Pfarrkirche Maria Himmelfahrt

On the track of the former pagan places of worship

Another village church, another site with interesting history. Neundorf was first mentioned in AD 888 as Nova Villa – a Frankish Königshof (royal palace). The church was first mentioned in 1130 and its tower is still preserved from that time. Continue reading

Advertisements

Ulflingen/Ëlwen/Troisvierges

There is something very mysterious about the small town of Ulflingen/Ëlwen/Troisvierges that remains unnoticed. It is its name in the first place. The German name Ulflingen, by which it was known from its very beginning (mentioned for the first time in 1353), as well as the Luxembourg Ëlwen, derives from the word for ‘elves’ and refers to the old folk tales about the founding of the town by elves.

Continue reading